Rachel, writing

All things novelling-related as I embark on my self-publishing adventure

One month, one 50,000 word novel

Right now, I’m at CampNanowrimo. It’s a virtual summercamp where campers do just what they’d do in November’s ‘full fat’ version of Nanowrimo: write a 50,000 word novel in a month. The trick is to write, write write: no editing, no rewrites, no tweaking things about (that comes later, before anybody thinks I’m going to clog up Amazon with a raw brain-dump). And, of course, August has one more day than November, so it’s a smidge more relaxing. If you want to join in, visit the website. It’s only just started, there’s a weekend ahead and catching up is still realistic. You can find details of my nanonovel, complete with a short, hardly-edited extract, by searching for Raich on the Campnanowrimo site.

The beta version of The Syndrome Diaries – which started life as a Nanowrimo novel nearly 2 years ago – has been sent off to four readers. I’ve had feedback from two of them and it’s been very positive. These are two people who will be as critical as they need to be, and one of them is a published author who has given some great feedback during the honing I’ve been doing over the last six months. I still have to do some more editing to make sure the book is as good as it can be, but there is no radical reworking involved, and an Autumn release for the ebook looks realistic.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “One month, one 50,000 word novel

  1. I have the website up on another tag and will check it out.
    Hope all goes well for you.
    Do let us know how you get on at the end of your month.

  2. Thanks Pat – I’ve passed the 13,000 word mark now, and Jillian, my main character is starting to take on a life of her own (it’s always a relief when my characters do this). I just have to keep it up for the next 23 days…

Leave a Reply

