Rachel, writing

All things novelling-related as I embark on my self-publishing adventure

I won! Now for some work…

I finished another draft novel yesterday, hitting the 50,000-word target at Camp NaNoWriMo. Will I do the regular NaNoWriMo in November? Quite probably! Nano is a useful exercise because it forces you to write, write, write and edit later. How many of us have started Chapter One, honed and honed it within an inch of its life, and never got any further? I also find that I’m more productive in my academic work if I’m writing regularly.

So it’s back to work on The Syndrome Diaries. I’ve had feedback from my beta readers who have been wonderfully picky and wonderfully encouraging too (sorry, they’re mine! You can’t have them!). I had specific requests not to change too much, but there are some things that need tweaking, so that will be completed in September.

If you’ve visited this blog before, you might also notice its name-change and some new pages across the top. I’m trying it out as a web presence on the recommendation of several people. I’m also trying to get out more in an online kind of way, which means reading more blogs. There are so many people out there with great blogs, entertaining and full of ideas, and I need to do more visiting. It often seems like an indulgence, but I know that it’s also motivating and creativity-boosting to see what other people are doing.

I need to set up a Facebook page for my novels, and also tweet more. I’ve no intention of doing those ‘Buy my book!’ tweets that make me unfollow people (see my blog on promotion a few weeks back), but I do want to be on people’s radar. It feels slightly dirty confessing to all my platform-building activities, as if I should be striving for my art and letting its quality do the rest, but this is the real world. And I said I’d blog what I was doing.

What do you think is the best way of raising awareness of your work without inviting unfollows and unfriends?

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “I won! Now for some work…

  1. beatbox32 on said:

    Congrats on getting through the first draft! I think you’re on the right path to selling yourself without grabbing a bullhorn and screaming “Look at me and my new book!”

    It’s a slow process, but just keep building your WordPress/Twitter network. Get on Goodreads and give out some promotional copies. I have a good link buried under piles of digital dust with some nice marketing tips. I’ll try to uncover it and send it your way.

  2. Thanks, Beatbox. I won’t have hard copies of the book; I looked at POD publishing alongside the ebook, and decided that the cons outweighed the pros, although I may change my mind. But I’m having lots of fun on Goodreads this evening!

  3. It’s always interesting to see how different people go through the writing process. I was more the type that finished my novel but didn’t want to rewrite. I’ve since changed that philosophy, but I still admire the folks who were never afraid to rewrite and rewrite and rewrite. Glad you’re making progress.

    As for social media, at a writers conference I attended, one of the social media gurus said, “Twitter is about building relationships, not followers.” Ever since then I’ve been trying to focus on the people I follow and who follow me more closely. Sure I don’t have a bajillion followers yet, but I think I’m okay with that. I like knowing who’s who and what’s what.

    Awesome work on your 50K mark!

    • Jae – I agree. When someone with loads of Twitter followers follows me, I only follow back if their tweets are exceptionally insightful. I’m sure a lot of them are just playing the numbers game. I don’t like people tweeting their FB updates either: they’re 2 different media and it doesn’t work! I think using social media as sociable media is preferable.

  4. First of all, I love your blog’s theme. Probably because it’s mine as well.
    😉

    Second of all, congrats on your book coming out. I’m currently in the same boat–a bit nerve-racking, it is. I still haven’t joined Facebook and not sure that I will. I know it’s an additional promoting platform, but like you, I don’t want to be that “buy my book” person. And I have my hands full as it is with blogging and Twitter.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it!

  5. Hi Rachel, congratulations on finishing your novel. I’ve done NaNo every year for the past six and feel the same way about it. It definitely increases my productivity, giving me a new manuscript each year. Also, thank you very much for the follow. d:)

Leave a Reply

