Rachel, writing

All things novelling-related as I embark on my self-publishing adventure

Trying to keep my promises

Earlier this year, I promised I was going to be open about the performance of The Syndrome Diaries once it was published. However, the contract expressly forbids me sharing the content of Amazon sales reports, and I have to respect that if I don’t want to end up in deep legal do-do. I can tell you that I’m about at the point where, when the royalties arrive, I could buy myself a decent lunch here (my favourite café) and probably just about pay for a friend too. The worries I had – no sales at all, or a flurry of derogatory reviews – haven’t materialised.

The book has been available almost a week. People who expressed an interest while I was writing know the book is now available, although I haven’t exactly blitzed the marketing. Word of mouth is a key part of a book’s success, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that somebody out there will like it enough to put some little stars next to it on Amazon to help it on its way.

Reading the experiences of successful self-publishers, my current figures are pretty normal for this stage of the process, so I’m happy. The key to increasing the sales? More books! More writing! So that’s what I’m planning to do.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Trying to keep my promises

  1. Best of luck to you on this epic journey! May your stats go up and your royalties go up even higher!

  2. “More books! More writing!”—-Great plan. I need to be doing that myself. And once I’ve read your book, I will be delighted to leave reviews. 🙂

    • It’s a weird feeling though, isn’t it, trying to let go and move onto the next project just after you’ve published. Are you finding this with The Seneca Scourge?

      • Carrie Rubin on said:

        Very much so, but mostly because I’m not finding the time. I have an outline started, but so much of my efforts are going towards social media and marketing.

  3. Phillip McCollum on said:

    Thanks for the updates Rachel! Glad to hear you’re off to a good start. From what I’ve managed to scour from other published authors the Internet, it seems that out of the blue, sales skyrocket one day. Doesn’t appear to be much rhyme or reason to it. I think everything just happens to come together at that time.

    Here’s to hoping that day comes for you soon and you can buy a lifetime’s supply of decent lunches. 🙂

  4. Rachel
    If the way other people read is any guide, your book will sit quietly, enjoying small sales until..*makes whooshing noise*…you get ‘discovered’ by readers who have read something similar to your book and want more.
    It will happen without warning, and as Phillip says – there seems to be little rhyme or reason to it.
    All you can do is find a way to get your book to show up in the; ‘people who bought this book also bought these’ area at the bottom of Amazon’s page.
    There’s probably an official name for that area…soz.

  5. Andrew – I wonder if that depends on people buying more than one book at a time? Or whether it plots each customer’s purchases from a certain category over time? For example, fiction books tend to have similar fiction books in that area, but I’m sure lots of people buy a mix of fiction and non-fiction (I certainly do), so there must be some categorisation in the algorithm. It seems to take a while to whirr into action though, looking through various other book profiles on there (unless you’re JK Rowling).

Leave a Reply

