Rachel, writing

All things novelling-related as I embark on my self-publishing adventure

Rachel, not writing

Wicker Chair Sitting at Desk

Sometimes, life gets in the way of writing. I just moved: it wasn’t intentional, but as I’m currently renting and the owner of the property passed away, the tenancy ended. So, I embarked on househunting and moving madness and all the accompanying admin, made rather more challenging by my husband being abroad for the duration.

In some ways, it wasn’t such a bad thing. It was a well-timed fresh start, as it’s been quite difficult to let go of  ‘The Syndrome Diaries’ and get stuck into a new project. However, I really ought to have been marketing on full throttle as Christmas is a peak time for book purchases and for people to receive empty Kindles. And I didn’t. I also did almost no work on my PhD, at a time when I ought to have been promoting a study (if you’re planning on starting an exercise programme in the first quarter of 2013, you can take part: info is here and the link to sign up is here – that’s my shameless plug done for this blog).

So how many copies of Syndrome have I sold recently? Erm, not very many. But I received my first royalty payment! It wasn’t huge, but to have earned money from the novel is such a fantastic feeling. It was a bit like crossing the finishing line the first time I ran a marathon. And in many ways, the same principles are involved: consistent effort, keeping going when you have a setback and never giving up.

So I haven’t given up. I’ve taken a couple of old bits of writing along to the writing group, and had my first stab in many years at writing a short story, inspired by this rather wonderful book. And four seven-hour flights in a month (two visits to hubby) have given me lots of reading time, which is great for inspiration. So I may have slacked off, but I’m re-energised and raring to go in 2013.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Rachel, not writing

  1. You certainly have a lot on your plate. I can’t imagine working on a novel and a PhD at the same time. When I was finishing my master’s of public health a couple years back, my research project took the bulk of my time. Not much left over for other pursuits. I wish you well on all. 🙂

  2. Receiving payment for your novel is like someone pulling a blanket from over your head. It shouts ‘People are prepared to pay for what you write!’ and inspires.
    Since I self-published my first novel, my Muse has gone into overdrive and I’m well on the way to putting together my sequel.
    Things will get better for you now that you have your head up and are focussed on the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

